Wedding Feature: Lori & John

Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0241

John & Lori were married at Stafford’s Bay View Inn in Petoskey in August.

Their Story
We met back in 1999 through a mutual friend. Long story short, our lives went on without each other and in 2011 we reconnected (thank you facebook) and knew we were meant to be together!Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0211

We got engaged on July 27, 2013. We were planning a summer party for that day. John seemed to be really concerned about the time it was taking me to get ready since I told him I’d probably just shower when he went to pick up his kids. He kept telling me that the time to get the kids was getting pushed back, so we had more time to prepare for the party, so I finally just went & took a shower. He finally leaves to get the kids and right after he left, he came back in telling me I need to keep my phone nearby because he just sent me a text that I needed to respond because he left something at the house. So, he leaves again and I get yet another text telling to me to respond when I’ve read it… I figured he was checking to make sure I had my phone nearby so I responded with “read,” letting him know I did in fact have my phone by me… just in case.Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0213

What he actually meant to say was to let him know when I finished reading the email he just sent me. It was the most lovely email about how we have reconnected, our journey together and what we have to look forward to in the future. As I am reading the email, there is a knock on the door and all I can think is ‘come on people, I’m trying to get ready here!’ I thought it was my mom or sister showing up early for the party, so I go to the door and nobody is there. I get a little closer and John is sort of hiding off to the side of the door. Of course I am confused wondering what he’s doing there. So he comes in the house, says some more lovely things and asks me to be his wife!

Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0215Apparently, that was his plan, to propose before the party and I was completely surprised! It was so nice because we were then able to share the news with our friends & family as they came over for the party.

Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0217

Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0218We chose to marry in northern Michigan because we both have been coming “up north,” since we were little – both our families have cottages up there. We knew our wedding would be on the smaller side and figured it would be nice to have a wedding in northern Michigan with our closest family and friends. Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0230Neither of us had been to Petoskey previously, but when we visited different cities and venues, we fell in love with Petoskey. Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0232

Wedding Details

  • I really had no idea what anything was going to look like, including my bouquet and flowers for centerpieces, as well as the arch for the ceremony. I was so excited to see the beautiful ceremony and reception set-up!Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0235
  • John and I decided to do a “first look,” and see each other before the ceremony. It was such a great decision! I loved it just being the two of us. Plus, we were able to go downtown and get some pictures in before the wedding.Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0236

Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0237Wedding Ingredients

Ceremony Location: Staffordshire Garden at Stafford’s Bay View Inn
Reception Location:Howard Room at Stafford’s Bay View Inn
Photographer: Meg Darket PhotographyBay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0246
Desserts: Stafford’s Bay View Inn
Flowers: Bloom
Centerpieces: Containers provided by bride accompanied with Bloom flowers, burlap and lace table runners and votive candles
Dress: David’s Bridal
Color Scheme: Mint & peach with burlap and lace throughoutBay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0248

Bay View Inn Weddings, Petoskey Wedding, Petoskey Wedding Photographer, Up North Wedding, Up North Wedding Photographer, Bay View Inn Wedding Photographer, Pure Michigan Weddings,_0244– Submitted by Lori

Leave a comment